Opened 10 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

#2108 closed enhancement (fixed)

ObjectIDs & history when joining ways

Reported by: Nick Austin Owned by: richard@…
Priority: trivial Milestone: Wishlist
Component: potlatch (flash editor) Version: 1.0
Keywords: Cc:

Description

When editing long ways it's often easier to temporarily split the way, edit, then rejoin. However this can unnecessarily "trash the history" of the long way because the order if which the ways are selected when re-joining can delete the way that has the history and create a new way without any history.

Specifically, this happens when an way with a negative ObjectID is selected first and then the user shift-clicks a way with a positive ObjectID. This deletes the way with the positive ObjectID and creates a new way.

Three suggestions for your consideration: a) Create a tag in the new way (similar to the "Retrieved from v" when reverting) that links back to the deleted ObjectID. b) Warn via a beep & yellow popup that the history has been "trashed" (the user can then "undo" and rejoin correctly if so wished) c) Don't allow a choice. Ignore the selection order and always keep the existing ObjectID.

Change History (1)

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by Richard

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

Will be fixed in 1.2.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.