Opened 6 years ago

Last modified 4 years ago

#4203 new enhancement

On upload (save), a version conflict can't be resolved, user losing edits

Reported by: p.weber@… Owned by: potlatch-dev@…
Priority: major Milestone:
Component: potlatch2 Version: 2.0
Keywords: version conflict usability losing work Cc:

Description

Just ran a mapping party, and multiple users were editing the same area, resulting in some conflicts of edits.

Now Potlatch2 stops the save operation, and a modal window alerts the user to the fact that there is a version mismatch, and even gives a ID of the offending object. There is a Yes option to retry (with exactly the same result, as nothing has changed), or a No to cancel upload.

Unfortunately, a version conflict might as well crash Potlatch because there is no way for the user to do anything about the conflict and he is stuck with losing all of his work!

What would be needed is for Potlatch to make the user aware that there is a conflict, and leave out the offending features (possibly highlighting them), but finishing the rest of the upload.

This way, the user could save (virtually all of) his work (at the moment, his only option is to lose all edits and restart), and reload the data to redo and resolve the conflicting edits.

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 4 years ago by compdude

I hate it when this happens. There needs to be an option for Potlatch to skip the problem nodes/ways but save everything else.

comment:2 Changed 4 years ago by Richard

Yep, there does. Until that happy day arrives, save early, save often.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.