Opened 6 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

Last modified 6 years ago

#4890 closed defect (wontfix)

Potlatch deleting attributes when saving

Reported by: blahedo Owned by: potlatch-dev@…
Priority: critical Milestone:
Component: potlatch2 Version:
Keywords: potlatch save deletion attributes Cc:

Description

If an entity is selected when you save in Potlatch, some of its attributes are deleted.

To reproduce:

  • Open Potlatch2 on a section of map
  • Highlight a road and make a modification to it (e.g. remove its "tiger:reviewed=no" attribute, or change its "highway" value)
  • While the road is still selected, press 's' to save

The save occurs, but several of the road's attributes disappear. I have verified that this happens even if multiple ways are selected, and if the 'save' button is clicked (rather than pressing 's'). If after this occurs to a way, the way is modified and saved again, additional attributes disappear.

Thinking it might have been a weird synch issue with Potlatch, I closed the changeset and reloaded Potlatch2, but the behaviour persisted.

I'm attaching before-and-after screenshots to show the behaviour. Between taking the "before" and taking the "after", the only thing I did was press 's' to save. Unless I'm completely misdiagnosing this, it is a fairly critical bug as it causes deletion of data. (Even if I'm misdiagnosing it, *something* is causing the deletion of data, and that's a problem.) A temporary workaround seems to be to make sure nothing is selected when you click 'save' or press 's', but it could just be that something is getting deleted and I'm not seeing it.

I'm running on Firefox 20, on Ubuntu 12.10, on iMac hardware.

Attachments (2)

osm-before-cropped.png (74.0 KB) - added by blahedo 6 years ago.
Immediately before saving
osm-after-cropped.png (58.3 KB) - added by blahedo 6 years ago.
Immediately after saving

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (5)

Changed 6 years ago by blahedo

Attachment: osm-before-cropped.png added

Immediately before saving

Changed 6 years ago by blahedo

Attachment: osm-after-cropped.png added

Immediately after saving

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by Richard

This is intentional behaviour. On save, P2 strips a very small number of tags which are no longer used by the OSM community and now serve only to bloat the database (particularly some associated with the TIGER import). Other editors do the same. See http://git.openstreetmap.org/potlatch2.git/blob?f=net/systemeD/halcyon/connection/XMLConnection.as#l24 .

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by Richard

Resolution: wontfix
Status: newclosed

comment:3 Changed 6 years ago by blahedo

Oh. Sorry. I thought I was just "lucky" that nothing important was deleted. From a UI perspective, it was a little alarming to see data just disappear like that, though. Glad it wasn't a problem....

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.