Opened 6 years ago

Last modified 5 years ago

#4902 new enhancement

Warnings for deleting/merging relation members

Reported by: fernando.trebien@… Owned by: potlatch-dev@…
Priority: minor Milestone:
Component: potlatch2 Version:
Keywords: Cc:

Description

Hello,

I know this can be considered a duplicate of tickets #3777 and #4879, but I'd like to elaborate on this issue.

Despite members of relations now being rendered a little differently, I still see some novice users breaking relations from time to time without noticing it. They use Potlatch because it is easy and because they feel they can skip a lot of technical reading. The visual language is a very nice feature when understood but it is evidently not that obvious to some users. A visual clue may indicate that something is different but it does not indicate what the difference is.

I suggest a warning that the user may disable through a check box (and re-enable in the Options dialog). The warning can briefly explain the possible consequences of operating on relation members and provide a link for further reading.

An example dialog for deleting nodes or ways:

If you delete this element, one or more relations may become broken. Relation membership can be managed in the Advanced tab. To learn more about relations, see: http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Relation

Proceed?

[ ] Don't show this again [Yes] [No]

And one for merging ways, shown only if necessary (not shown if all ways are already members of the same relations, except relations with type=restriction):

If you merge these ways, one or more relations may become inconsistent. Relation membership can be managed in the Advanced tab. To learn more about relations, see: http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Relation

Proceed?

[ ] Don't show this again [Yes] [No]

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by Richard

Potlatch will not be the default editor for much longer (iD will be) so purely beginner-focused feature requests are largely out of scope now.

comment:2 Changed 5 years ago by bryce2@…

+1 on this.

It's reasonable for all editors to warn on deleting a relation member, by default, no matter the editor level targeted. Even josm. Even P2.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.